Message sent from:

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage encompasses the period of education from birth to the end of their Reception Year.  This is a critical and very exciting time in a child's development.  At Orchid Vale, we follow the government guidelines for learning, development and care for children.  This is called the 'Statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage' and has, at its core, 4 overarching principles.  These are : that every child is a unique child, that children learn through positive relationships, that they develop best in an enabling environment and that all children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates.

The Foundation Stage Curriculum is organised into seven areas of learning:

Personal, Social and Emotional development

Communication and Language

Physical Development


Mathematical Development

Understanding the World

Expressive Arts and Design

Planning focuses on these areas and will often be responsive to the children's needs and interests.  

Click here to find out more about our Early Years Provision

Please speak to your child's class teacher if you would like to find out more about our curriculum.

Hit enter to search